- 46.2-707 Code of Virginia states that:
“Operating any uninsured without payment of fee; verification of insurance; false evidence of insurance”
How much is a ticket for driving without insurance in Virginia?
The state of Virginia has made the minimum auto insurance coverage requirement followed by its residents to be:
- Fine of $25,000, in the case of any physical injury, or even the death of a single person
- Fine of $50,000 , in the case of any physical injury, or even the death of two or more than two persons
- Fine of $20,000 for the damage to property
What Is The Required Auto Insurance Policy In the State of Virginia?
The Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles has placed the rule that requires all Virginians to get their automobile registered. Not only that, they must also apply for the automobile insurance policy. If for some reason, they cannot make the payment of the insurance, they will have to pay a fee in order to drive in the state.
What Happens If You Are Caught Driving Without Insurance In Virginia?
Virginian uninsured drivers who are driving for a certain duration of time, need to pay the required uninsured motor vehicle fee in order to drive.
The state of Virginia has all the right and power to place severe penalties on those caught driving without making the payment of the insurance. In these case, if the respective authorities catch any driver who has not acquired the insurance, and not made the uninsured motor vehicle payment of $500, will be charged for Class 3 misdemeanor.
In those cases where the driver is unable or unwilling to purchase their automobile insurance, the minimum payment of $500 as insurance will be just enough to satisfy the law of permitting the driver for 12 months to drive uninsured. However, this will not mean that the driver has insurance protection.
How to Handle the Imposed Penalty
The state law of Virginia states that if any driver is found driving a motor vehicle without its insurance and without paying the required by UMV fee, an administrative hearing will be granted to the uninsured driver before they are suspended or penalized.
How Does The State Of Virginia Penalize Those Not Having Car Insurance
Depending on the severity of the situation, the state of Virginia can place penalties on all of those citizens caught driving without paying car insurance.
In case the law enforcement officers find any driver driving a vehicle with no insurance, as well as a deferred uninsured motor vehicle payment of $500, that driver will most definitely be charged for Class 3 misdemeanor.
Don’t Handle Your Case by yourself. Take The Help Of Your Virginian Attorney
If you have been placed the charges of driving in the state of Virginia without a license, do not try to handle your case without the help of your skilled Virginian attorney. Your attorney will be there to fight your case and result in it favorable outcome for yourself.